CRE Finance Council names new chair and board members

New chair has been a member of the group since 2007

CRE Finance Council names new chair and board members

The CRE Finance Council (CREFC) has named Goldman Sachs executive Leah Nivison (pictured) as the chair of its executive committee and board for 2022-2023.

Nivison has served as a CREFC member for over 15 years and will succeed outgoing chair Eric Thompson, senior managing director at KBRA.

Commenting on the move, CREFC executive director Lisa Pendergast said: “She has been a long-standing member of CREFC, and her important voice in the industry will serve CREFC and the industry well as the country manages today’s challenges, such as rising rates, inflation, and a potential slowdown in economic activity. I’d also like to thank Eric for the significant time, effort and dedication he put forth as chair over the last year; we are grateful for his leadership and commitment to our industry.”

“I am humbled and honored to have been selected to lead the executive committee and chair CREFC’s board for the coming year,” said Nivison. “CREFC’s work is critical in engaging the public on important issues, advocating for the interests of commercial real estate, and leading the next generation of investors, lenders and commercial real estate professionals.”

Read next: “Multifamily rents continue to defy gravity” – report

In addition to the Nivison appointment, the association introduced the newest members of its executive committee for 2022-2023: Harris Trifon as chair-elect; Jan Sternin as vice-chair; Robert Foley as secretary; Adam Behlman as treasurer; Tobin Cobb as membership committee chair; Gregory Cross as policy committee chair; David Harrison as program committee chair; Daniel as long-range planning and investment committee chair; and Laura Swihart as executive committee at-large member.

CREFC also announced the new members of its board of governors, including Stefanos Arethas, Adam Behlman, Kim Diamond, Shannon Erdmann, Zach Freedman, Jeehae Lee, Richard Slaton, Alan Todd, and Paul Vanderslice.

“We at CREFC are excited to welcome the newest members of the executive committee and our board of governors. As we move into the next year, we look forward to working together as the voice of commercial real estate finance on key issues that are most important and directly impact our industry and its members,” Pendergast said.