FSF Credit Excellence Awards winners revealed

Winners announced after FSF’s 2023 conference

FSF Credit Excellence Awards winners revealed

The non-bank lending sector’s outstanding industry professionals took the spotlight at the Financial Services Federation’s biggest-ever, sold-out Crediting Excellence Awards evening.

The winners of the FSF Crediting Excellence Awards, announced at the gala dinner following FSF’s 2023 conference, “The Social License to Thrive,” were recognised for going above and beyond for good outcomes for customers, community, and staff wellbeing.

“We started these awards five years ago, tired of high-cost lenders hogging the spotlight for all the wrong reasons when there are so many good sorts who take pride in the part they play in the responsible non-bank lending sector,” said Lyn McMorran, FSF’s executive director.

“There are 1.7 million New Zealanders who are customers of FSF members, the vast majority of which have a positive borrowing experience, and this is a moment to acknowledge that.”

The judging panel comprised of Andrew Mitchell, financial mentor team lead at Salvation Army, Susan Taylor, financial ombudsman and CEO of Financial Services Complaints, and Luke Ford, Chapman Tripp finance partner.

The FSF Credit Excellence Awards winners were as follows:

  • Autosure Rising Star – Michael Bushell (pictured above left), manager of complaints and training at Avanti Finance
  • Centrix Workplace Champion – Rebecca Emery, head of Communications at Humm Group
  • Provident Insurance Leadership Award – Monika Lacey (pictured above centre), chief operating officer at Centrix
  • Happy Prime Team Spirit Award – DebtManagers Field Agent Team.
  • Speirs Finance Innovation Award – Centrix
  • Equifax Community and Sustainability Award – DebtManagers. Director Charles Whiting (pictured above right)

IDCARE also received a special mention for its work reducing community harm from scams, ID theft, and cybercrime.

“This work is much needed and helps address a growing social concern in the financial services sector,” the judges said.

For more information about the different award categories, as well as the finalists, read: What is the focus of the 2023 FSF conference?

Get the hottest and freshest mortgage news delivered right into your inbox. Subscribe now to our FREE daily newsletter.