Australian Mortgage Awards 2020

The Australian Mortgage Awards went virtual this year to continue the tradition of celebrating excellence

Australian Mortgage Awards 2020

It's been a challenging year for the mortgage sector, to say the least – so there’s never been a better time to celebrate the mortgage professionals and organisations that have continued to thrive during such turbulent times. That’s why 16 October marked the occasion of the 19th annual Australian Mortgage Awards – revamped in 2020 as a virtual event bringing all the excitement of an awards ceremony directly to the people who make this industry great. Hosted by Lawrence Mooney, this year’s AMAs looked quite different to the usual black-tie gala that has become such an iconic event on the industry calendar. In addition to the announcement of the award winners, the virtual event also had an educational component – a series of panel discussions featuring the 2020 finalists, who shared their strategies for success and best business-building tips. While the venue may have changed from ballroom to living room, this year’s AMAs remained as competitive as ever, with the nation’s finest jostling for pole position in 30 prestigious award categories following a rigorous nomination and selection process. The quality of talent on display was as exceptional as ever, and we’d like to extend huge congratulations to our winners and finalists as well as a massive thank-you to everyone who tuned in to the live broadcast and all our wonderful sponsors. Keep reading to find out who this year’s big winners were.



Stage 1: Nominations

Individuals and businesses in the mortgage industry are open to submit nominations via online portal.

Stage 2: Research

The Australian Mortgage Awards team will conduct research and draw on industry knowledge and information gained through MPA and Australian Brokers magazine to supplement and support nominations received.

Stage 3: Finalist Selected

Finalists will be selected in each category and notified via phone or email.

Stage 4: Finalist Submission

All finalists will be required to provide an online submission that demonstrates how they fulfil the criteria and why do they deserve to win.

Stage 5: Judging

The Australian Mortgage Awards team will send completed finalist submissions to an independent panel of judges in the mortgage and finance industry.

Stage 6: Winners

Using a simple points system to aggregate the score, the finalist with the highest score in each category wins.

Here are the winners of AMA 2020:

National Awards

Westpac Australian Broker of the Year

Winner: Mhairi MacLeod, Astute Ability Group

Australian Brokerage of the Year

Winner: Smartmove Professional Mortgage Advisors

Broker Awards

La Trobe Financial Broker of the Year – Commercial

Winner: Greg Pierlot, The 500 Group

Excellence Awards:

  • Andrew Soo, GM Capital Solutions
  • George Karam, BF Money
  • John Encina, Experity Capital
  • Melissa Aschroft, AAA Mortgages

FBAA Broker of the Year – Independent

Winner: Kris Menon, Origin Finance

Excellence Awards:

  • Daniel Dusevic, Experity Capital
  • Fane Levy, Shore Financial
  • Josh Bartlett, Mortgage Advice Bureau
  • Josh Egan, Astute Melbourne City South and Gippsland

Pepper Money Broker of the Year – Specialist Lending

Winner: Mhairi MacLeod Astute Ability Group

Excellence Awards:

  • Mitchell Boulden, Jennings Mortgages
  • Ray Ethell, Non Conforming Loans
  • Michael Hughson, Arthurmac

Broker of the Year – Productivity

Winner: Josh Bartlett, Mortgage Advice Bureau

Excellence Awards:

  • Prakash Rai, Home Loan Experts
  • Robert Simpson, Loan Market
  • Stephen McClatchie, Loans Australia
  • Vivienne Than, Home Loan Experts

Broker of the Year – Regional

Winner: Mhairi MacLeod Astute Ability Group

Excellence Awards:

  • Kaia Hunter, Mortgage Choice Buderim
  • Paul Wright, MoneyQuest Wollongong
  • Robert Simpson, Loan Market  

MFAA Young Gun of the Year – Franchise

Winner: Katie Dowton Mortgage Choice

Excellence Award: Brian Lowe, Aussie Home Loans Taigum

Adelaide Bank Young Gun of the Year – Independent

Winner: Thomas Morison, Smartmove Professional Mortgage Advisors

Excellence Awards:

  • Andrew Loucas, Loan Base
  • Evelyn Clark, Accession Finance
  • Mohit Lal Pradhan, Home Loan Experts

Brokerage Awards

Brokerage of the Year – Diversification

Winner: TM Finance Group

Excellence Awards:

  • Astute Melbourne City South and Gippsland
  • Finance Made Easy
  • Infinity Group Australia

Brokerage of the Year (1-5 staff)

Winner: Atelier Wealth

Excellence Awards:

  • Birdie Wealth
  • Mortgage Advice Bureau Melbourne
  • Zippy Financial Group

Brokerage of the Year (6-20 staff)

Winner: BF Money

Excellence Awards:

  • Loans Australia
  • Empower Wealth Mortgage Advisory
  • Infinity Group Australia
  • Time Home Loans

Commonwealth Bank of Australia Brokerage of the Year (>20 staff)

Winner: Smartmove Professional Mortgage Advisors

Excellence Awards:

  • Home Loan Experts
  • Oxygen Home Loans
  • The Australian Lending & Investment Centre

Brokerage of the Year – Regional

Winner: MoneyQuest Wollongong

Excellence Awards:

  • Go Mortgage
  • Mortgage Choice Nowra

NextGen.Net New Brokerage of the Year

Winner: Experity Capital

Excellence Awards:

  • Ding Financial​
  • Ortus Financial​
  • Premier Financial Advocates

BOQ Broker Best Customer Service from an Individual Office

Winner: Time Home Loans

Excellence Awards:

  • Mortgage Choice Ormeau
  • Shore Financial
  • Smartmove Professional Mortgage Advisors
  • Your Finance Adviser

Most Effective Digital Strategy – Brokerage

Winner: Infinity Group Australia

Excellence Awards:

  • Loan Base
  • Zippy Financial Group

Industry Awards

Best Industry Marketing Campaign

Winner: Aussie

Excellence Awards:

  • Loan Market Group
  • Zippy Financial Group

Best Industry Service

Winner: Broker Essentials

Excellence Awards:

  • HLE Nepal
  • NextGen.Net

Aggregator Awards

Aggregator of the Year (Up to 500 brokers)

Winner: National Mortgage Brokers

Excellence Award: Liberty Network Services

OnDeck Aggregator of the Year (Over 500 brokers)

Winner: Loan Market Group

Excellence Awards:

  • Connective
  • FAST
  • PLAN Australia

BDM Awards

Bankwest Best Aggregator BDM

Winner: Peter Bryant, Vow Financial

Excellence Awards:

  • Heather Gallagher, Outsource Financial
  • Paul Gollan, Finsure Finance & Insurance
  • Zoe Uyen, Aussie Home Loans

Best Major Bank BDM

Winner: Natalie McCullough, CBA

Excellence Awards:

  • Julianne Brown, CBA​
  • Linda Oates, NAB​
  • Sam Tang, Westpac​

Best Non-Major Bank BDM

Winner: John Loukadellis, Macquarie

Excellence Awards:

  • Anita Fung, Bankwest
  • Dylan Cole, Bank Of Melbourne
  • Omar Moussa, St George Bank
  • Tes Anderson, Bankwest

Mortgage Choice Best Non-Bank BDM

Winner: Belinda Gray, Bluestone

Excellence Awards:

  • Jessica Pringle, Pepper Money
  • John Maxwell, Cocalex Holistic Consulting
  • Matthew Hall, Liberty
  • Surinder Agnihotri, Australian Business Credit

Lender Awards

Bank of the Year

Winner: ING

Excellence Awards:

  • Bankwest
  • St.George Banking Group

Non-Bank of the Year

Winner: Resimac

Excellence Awards:

Loan Services Team of the Year

Winner: Bankwest

Excellence Award: Macquarie

Most Effective Digital Strategy – Lender

Winner: Bankwest

Excellence Awards:

  • Resimac
  • St.George Banking Group
  • Westpac

Fintech Lender of the Year

Winner: 86 400

Excellence Awards: