Mortgage Professional America forum is the place for positive industry interaction and welcomes your professional and informed opinion.

Mortgage broker or mortgage professional: What's in a name?

Notify me of new replies via email
Mortgage Professional America | 13 Mar 2014, 06:45 AM Agree 0
Should you be distancing yourself from the term ‘mortgage broker’, or wearing your broker badge with pride against those that would unfairly make your profession the scapegoat for the financial crisis?
  • 2Bsquare | | 13 Mar 2014, 12:19 PM Agree 0
    The sad part is most people, within and outside the industry do not know who or what a mortgage broker "is". I have seen consumers call the MLO at a bank a mortgage broker. Is a MLO at a brokerage firm a Broker? You could go on all day. Heck, CFPB and AARMR will not even clarify the differences between licensed and registered
  • Steve Felt | | 13 Mar 2014, 12:34 PM Agree 0
    I've been a broker off and on since 1999 and now proudly state this title on my website and explain the difference between brokers and bankers. Which there's a huge difference considering bankers steer borrowers into their proprietary programs and brokers have the ability to do what's in the best interest of the borrower.
  • Broker Mark | | 13 Mar 2014, 12:46 PM Agree 0
    people don't care what you call yourself as long as they get a good deal & close on time
  • Broker Mark | | 13 Mar 2014, 12:48 PM Agree 0
    oh and by the way the article below this one reads "Trial underway for Fannie Mae employee accused of kickback scheme". hmmm
  • Griff | | 13 Mar 2014, 12:57 PM Agree 0
    I just saw a linkedin comment stating "a broker just takes an application and shows at closing for a check". This posted by someone calling himself a researcher and educator among other adjectives. Mostly I believe the term broker is simply misused by folks such as him. Sadly the public cannot decipfer the difference, causing lasting damage to the broker industry.