Mortgage Professional America forum is the place for positive industry interaction and welcomes your professional and informed opinion.

Branching out

Notify me of new replies via email
Mortgage Professional America | 29 May 2014, 12:26 AM Agree 0
Going it alone in the mortgage origination world can be tough, especially when new hurdles such as the QM rule are thrown in your way. Joining a branch network and making the most of all the corporate support that comes with it is one way to ease the pain
  • broker bob | | 29 May 2014, 09:19 AM Agree 0
    Don't believe this hype. I was a broker for 10 years then went to a net branch for a banker. Oh man talk about the ultimate bait and switch. Once the license's for myself and my LO's were transferred everything changed. You name it - rates,fee's,turn times,underwriting guidelines, etc. Worst feeling in the world is when you are stuck at a company - too scared to move because your LO's have to switch their license too. Came in with 10 producing LO's and left to become a broker again with only 2 LO's. But I will say that they all know what kind of pricing I get and smoke the tails off their rate and fee's every day. If you are a broker your wholesale Lender does compliance right along with you. You cant get from submission to funding with out many people checking compliance on the file through the process. But honestly I have to admit - the only deal recently I have lost was to another broker. So maybe you should all go rush off to the banker side and leave us brokers alone.
  • Mortgage Guy | | 29 May 2014, 09:19 AM Agree 0
    How is the legality of compensation laws handled in "branch networks"?
  • HappyLO | | 29 May 2014, 09:38 AM Agree 0