Mortgage Professional America forum is the place for positive industry interaction and welcomes your professional and informed opinion.

Big bank former employees blow whistle on HAMP cheats

Notify me of new replies via email
Mortgage Professional America | 19 Jun 2013, 07:00 AM Agree 0
Former employees of a major lender have claimed the bank routinely stalled the application process for the government’s Home Affordable Modification Program (HAMP)
  • Joanne | | 19 Jun 2013, 10:30 AM Agree 0
    All I can say is, "DUH!" I am a realtor and have had dozens of clients stalled for 18 months or more being told "everything looks good, just waiting for final terms"... only to be rejected after losing 20% of their home's value during those 18 months, and then WAY underwater...B of A doesn't give a *@!%* about their customers. A class action suit is quite appropriate!!!
  • John C Durham | | 19 Jun 2013, 10:33 AM Agree 0
    After 250 calls with a TBTF bank B of A, I thought they were fooling around. Then, after we had been paying the "new mortgage" lower amount on time every time, they sent the Foreclosure warning.

At this point, when they had ruined our credit and reported us late paying the "original" mortgage note, we had no where to turn for refinancing. I had no money for an attorney.

So, naturally I took them to ($20) small claims. That got me to THE LEGAL department. Then I got my first call.

Their New York City law firm told me I was in the wrong court. I told them I knew and was counting on them taking me into the "right" court. (I couldn't afford to). But, I told them that I knew that they didn't have the note or an assigned note and couldn't put the original all back together and the people they sold it to didn't get their paperwork either. If they would just please put my suit into the correct court, I would move the Court to Clear my Title. They didn't move the case anywhere...